The Chesapeake Pottery was founded in Baltimore in 1880 by brothers Henry and Isaac Brougham and a partner, John Turnstall. Due to financial difficulties, the factory was sold to David Frances Haynes in 1882. Having experience in both crockery merchandizing and artistic design, Haynes also hired two experienced English potters to manage the new concern. Frederick Hackney had experience producing majolica while employed at both Wedgwood and Fielding. Lewis Taft had previously been employed by William Brownfield in Stoke-on-Trent. After initial success, financial pressure forced Haynes to sell the pottery to Edwin Bennett in 1887. The firm was subsequently purchased by David Haynes son Frank, and continued business under the name D.F. Haynes and Son. The Chesapeake Pottery won awards at the Pan-American Exhibition in Buffalo as well as the 1893 and 1904 World’s Fairs in Chicago and St. Louis. Following the death of David Haynes in 1908, the firm faltered and ultimately closed in 1914.
Majolica production at the Chesapeake Pottery commenced in 1882 with a pattern named Clifton. Featuring blackberries and leaves on an ivory ground, the design is reminiscent of the Wedgwood argenta Blackberry design. Another line known as Avalon Faience used monochromatic leaf and floral decorations trimmed in antique gold over a smooth off-white background. Both patterns were used for production of full dinner services, pitchers and tea and coffee sets.
The Clifton pattern was marked with two intersecting crescents surrounding the initials DFH and including the words “CLIFTON” and “DECOR B” within the crescents. The mark of Avalon Faience included the words “AVALON”, “FAIENCE” and “BALT” enclosed within a triangle surrounding Haynes’ initials.
Antiques from Trilogy
Philppe Meunier & Juan-Alonso Defrocourt